MUST HAVE FUN.

I feel obligated to have fun on weekends.

I try to make as much overtime at work as i can and get A’s in all my courses (2 more in the bag this quarter!  found out last night!  woot woo!) and when the weekend rolls around, I feel I’d BETTER have a good time or i’ve WASTED it.  I also try to clean/laundrify and spend some time praying/reading.

If i do waste a weekend (don’t go to any group hangouts/parties, movies or parks), i feel terrible come Monday (it used to be worse when co-workers lived their weekends vicariously through me in my youth.)  I read an article about this once–it was about how Americans feel pressure to have fun on vacations and we do things like minigolf because if we don’t have fun in the 1-2 weeks off per year then we feel like we’ve wasted our vacation.

I feel obligated to be outside on nice days.

This makes it hard to get my work done on beautiful weekends, but because Rochester is so cloudy (ALL the TIME!) it seems like a “sin” to be inside on sunny mornings.


I’m going somewhere with this.

When I’m at parties with all Christians, it shouldn’t be awkward to say something like, “hey guys, let’s pray for such and such or let’s sing worship songs with the guitar i’m holding.”  I mean, sure, it was awkward the one time I did that at Billy’s bday party in the middle of laser tag, but seriously–why is it that when we sit around a campfire trying to think of topics or games, I feel like I shouldn’t speak up about prayer?  (okay i didnt really do it during laser tag, ever.)  Is it awkward because i don’t pray enough personally?  Is it because we feel like we’re supposed to do certain things a certain way?

I think it might be at least 50% “wrong place at the wrong time”.   As much as I don’t understand why some people are anxious if they miss being in a church building one sunday morning, I don’t understand why all the stuff having to do with Christ is supposed to stay there either.  We do have home groups/bible studies sometimes, and prayer nights, but more than 3-4 nights a week is a bit excessive and we start to feel like we deserve a break.  I really think some Christians (who i love) would even be offended that I was trying to infiltrate our hangout time with ANOTHER night of spiritual activity.

I think there’s a “just not in the mood thing” too–since prayer especially can be exhausting and sometimes after a long week, we’re just tired.  I need to understand that more when it’s happening to others around me and not just when it happens to me.

I just feel like the more tired and stressed and wound up we are from the week, the MORE important it is to turn to Him.  And yet, we (groups of Christian 20 somethings) often don’t.  What is that about, seriously?  Do we really believe Jesus Christ makes it possible for us to talk to the LORD of CREATION at any time, day or night?  He promises to come when we gather in His name!  (Pleeeeeeeeeeeease do not comment and say that when 2-3 or more Christians gather in his name, for any reason, there is godly fellowship.  If we are watching Braveheart, God’s presence is not what we’re focused on.)

I guess i’m just trying to figure out whether its culture/unbelief or what that makes me pray so little to the God who deserves so much.

Here’s something that contrasts deeply with what I read about in places like Relevant Magazine and hear spoken about by all my friends:

“The danger we have is that we want to water down what Jesus said to make it mean something that aligns with our common sense. But if it were only common sense, what He said would not even be worthwhile. The things Jesus taught about prayer are supernatural truths He reveals to us.”  –My Utmost for His Highest

This paragraph followed a discussion of the fact that the Word of God says to “pray without ceasing”.  How is it humanly possible?  And how is it humanly possible to constantly believe Him when it doesn’t seem like he has answered the last three prayers we offered?

I’m not going to type up something about how He always answers, just not necessarily in the time and place we’d like to see an answer.  Everyone who reads this has heard it before, whether Christian or not.  Instead, let’s go here:

Why don’t we pray more?

Prayer = talking to God

Prayer > playing apples to apples

Prayer > Indiana Jones

Prayer > trying to think of new things to do.

Prayer < no activity i can think of.

im not saying we cant watch movies, but i feel the ratio of time spent in mindless fun and the time spent in prayer should be flipped.

“Prayer is not an exercise, it is the life of the saint.  Beware of anything that stops the offering up of prayer.” (same chapter).

I should feel obligated to pray–no ceasing.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “MUST HAVE FUN.

  1. I think we don’t do spiritual things with Christian friends when we don’t gather for spiritual reasons.

    A bunch of Christians watching Braveheart together is a heckuva lot like any bunch of friends watching Braveheart together. We enjoy being around people like ourselves, which is fine to a point. But it’s sad if Christians think they’re doing God’s work because they play softball or board games with other Christians (I do both).

    By the same token, “friendship evangelism” for its own sake is, I think, equally unproductive. If I hang out with a non-Christian friend because I want to convince him of the rightness of Christianity, I’m a sounding gong and a clanging cymbal.

    Love must underpin outreach – and that means being willing to love people who aren’t like me. It also means being transparent around people who might judge me. This year, I’ve tried to make a point of talking about spiritual things with my non-Christian friends. So in the gym, I don’t just talk to Mike about the exercise I got this weekend, I talk about how a prayer meeting really helped me get through something.

    When my mind is set on the Spirit, I do things that are Spiritual (c.f. Romans 8:4), whether I’m with Christians or not. This weekend, for instance, people were constantly singing hymns, even though the group wasn’t all Christians. By the same token, when my mind is set on myself, I do selfish things, whether I’m with Christians or not.

  2. Remember when u were in Kenya and we could go to a hotel and you pray ‘THERE’’ before we start to eat ..i admire that that’s cool we should pray always and not fear..i do pray a lot and fast ….in public I fear……I should fight fear …I guess

Leave a Reply

