add princeton degree, cackle and stir. voila: chapter 55.

gotta say, theres a lot thats happened since my latest posting.  To sum up:

finished quarter.  A in my hardest class in history (meaning ever, not in the subject of history).  B in the easiest (since i didnt know how to get an A.)  5 weddings down–kudos to kirsten for walkin down the aisle to battlestar gallactica.  took han on a massive sis date that involved friendlys, a mall, barnes and noble and our new book i bought us (it’s about a mouse that’s dysfunctional).  I bought us matching pandas we’ve now named ping and pong, so pong sleeps in my bed (he has a protrusion from his head and ping has a dent, so we call them pimple and dimple too.)  I’ve also had the biggest disappointment of the summer: what was to be the highlight turned sour as not one, but TWO friends from kenya cancelled on me while i was awaiting their arrival from NYC. 😦  my one weekend getaway this summer to NYC with jeanette/jackie = killed.

This was sent in an email to Steve, my recent pal in kenya.  Check out his site–i wrote this much though exhausted because he fully appreciates my emails.  i posted it here afterwards because im too tired to write an actual post.
Just got back from my first big trip to train/configure software for clients in manhattan.  oh. my. gosh.

I have the best story but its SO MUCH better in person.  oh, i dont care.  i’ll tell you it.  Just…youll have to make due without the yale cackle, which i have perfected now.

so.  I was staying at the YALE club and bookin it daily to <<unnamed sport’s>>> headquarters (client = american “sport” association) for training/requirements reviews/whathaveyou.  I found out a day before i left that i’d need to go and i had no idea at all as to what they needed, what had already been asked, which good questions needed to be asked, and how to train on software that sometimes explodes randomly.

So they smelled my fear, saw right through me and did the “what the heck is she talking about face” for the entire first day.  I truly thought the ceo’s face would stick that way (or maybe it was previously?)  Two guys were my age, a bit older, princeton grads, <<<that sport again>>> pros.  They would look at each other and laugh and make comments at how red my face was after the software exploded.

terrible.

the second day i was much better, downright professional/effective.  They asked me to please stay an extra night at the yale club (already had booked 3 nights) and we changed my ticket to fly back same time NEXT day.  Then my coworker left.  And i wandered the streets of manhattan, bought a raisin bran muffin and watched the olympics in my room.

SO the third day i trained bill all morning, who was quick, witty and sarcastic, but easy to keep up with and get along with.  the MEAN my age guy (who has been there 1 week and thinks he is attractive) walked in complaining about some jerk who made him late by jumping in front of a train and inconveniencing him.  10 minutes late cause some dude couldnt wait until after rush hour to jump…(and i started to realize the mean <spporttttt> player’s devilish nature.)

Somehow during training it was discovered that i’d been homeschooled (this is important later.  it should be noted that any time this is discovered, something bad immediately follows.)  We wrapped up, i did more work, documented our needed questions/answers and began to simply punch in the configurations id gathered.  THEN the attractive guy and the MEAN AND EVIL princeton guy had this conversation over lunch, after bill informed them of my homeschool status.

:::::::::::YALE CACKLE:::::::::::::: (like this: “uuuoooahahaha!  UUOUHA.  uouuuahaha!”)

Evil one: That explains so much!
Cute one: SERIOUSLY.
Evil: NO SERIOUSLY!  IT EXPLAINS SO MUCH.
WE WERE JUST LAUGHING AT YOU LIKE FIVE MINUTES AGO.
Cute one: yes. we were!  YALE CACKLE. ouhaaha.
EVIL: IT EXPLAINS A LOT!
Cute one: like her lack of social skills?
EVIL ONE: :::looks at me with a nasty smirk::::::”like her total lapses of any type of social ability.”

now, they’re totally not joking..at ALL.  and i sat there with my jaw dropped in amazement at their meanness and wondered if they call other people to work for them and fix issues (electricians, plumbers) and verbally abuse these people too.  I had lots of zingers up my sleeve, but they were paying my company too much for me to say anything to em, besides, Jesus made rules about those sorts of zings.

the story continues, but that will always be my favorite part.  The not-kiddingness can not be overemphasized. it was amazing. I now thank them for improving what will someday be a book about my experiences.  there really are people like that in the world today.  unfortunately, i also listened into a staff meeting that involved the words plaque and spa at least 100 times, no action items, no one “owning” tasks, and all around the most inefficient process ive ever experienced.  I actually pity their organization.  i pity me too. 61 hrs  = crazy.

uh, remind me to tell you the story of dragging my duffel bag and laptop through the streets, 3 trains, 1 “almost couldnt hail a taxi at all” bangladehian cab, 2 more trains and shuttles of NY to get to my flight 10 minutes before blasting off.  it was hot and ridiculous.

p.s. I wrote an email to those staff explaining how to change host files/log in to citrix/get into the new environment for the information we configured and sent it to them with “It was nice working with some of you.” tacked on the end.  Bill liked it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “add princeton degree, cackle and stir. voila: chapter 55.

  1. judy

    Just the simple reminder their company pays YOU to teach them ought to be good enough for them to SHUSH when being spoken to. As for the comments about socialization…Eleanor Roosevelt once said ” Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people.”
    I think you have it worlds beyond them Becca!!! Keep smiling and remember – someday – someone will have listened and you’ll know it. Those that don’t will be kicking themselves saying ” She told us about this I think?!” Just because someone attends an IVY league school doesn’t mean they’re SMART.

Leave a Reply

