memorable tea

Yesterday i went to a part of Kijabe where i’d never been before.  It was the home of Tabitha-the young kenyan student I mentioned before.

We made a movie for her application to Warren-Wilson College in NC.  She talked about becoming a doctor someday, her computer science awards, etc…  She showed me her house—and i filmed the surroundings and Tabitha as she articulated her passions and dreams.

“Here is our kitchen there.” (points to a table and the type of stove i’d bring camping).  “and here where i am standing–this is our sitting room.”  “back here (behind a sheet) is our bedroom.” (The whole house is all one room the size of a large bathroom).

We left that part out of the video, but it impacted me greatly (as it always does when i visit these little places where 5 people reside).  I edited the video all day and finished/sent it off today to the college.  Now we wait–she still needs around 9K to get in.

Today i spent time reading, documenting the centers, and sending the video off to the college(which took remarkably long).  Teresa (works cooking/cleaning on campus) and i had a very memorable tea.

We were talking about how God has given her wisdom.  As an African woman, she’s always known that 2 kids is a smart number, not more–because life is hard for people with a lot of kids to feed—but not every person has the same insight she has.

She said, “the greatest thing for us to have in our lives is wisdom, i think”.  And i reminded her that faith, hope, and love are the ones the Bible highlights.

I mentioned that it can so hard to love people—and how now because of the famine, it can be difficult to have faith in God.  Teresa said, “No!  It is easier for us when things are so bad–because we have to pray pray pray every day for God to send the rain.”  Teresa added, “it’s {having faith} more difficult for rich people than for us because rich people don’t have to ask God–they think everything is great..”

It was a new revelation for me.  Then i reminded Teresa that rich people can have famines in our hearts.  I pray daily for rain for Kenya, but also for rain in my heart.  It’s dry there-and i need the rain so badly.

We do not get to choose what kind of famine we suffer through-spiritual farness in our relationship to God vs. physical hunger. But i know there are people in the world dealing with both at the same time and it breaks my heart.  Currently, i’m in a spot where i’m afraid of my own inabilities–so it constantly brings me to my knees.  I pray for people who dont know about their inabilities, or don’t know they’re in a famine.  And i pray for those whose physical selves are wasting away slowly without enough to eat–people are more than worried  now, it’s outright fear for many in the small village i stumble around.

Pray for me that i would never stop going to my knees, but that rain would fall in my heart so i can continue to reach out to others (more selflessly than i currently am).

Pray for Kenya, that the empty could be filled and the hungry united in prayer for the rains to finally bless us.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “memorable tea

  1. Bec… this is good. Thank you. A lot of people do have famine in their hearts and we need to pray for that just as much for the people living in poverty. I love your insight and how you write in general. Keep sharing your heart and let it speak to others!

  2. I never thought of it that way. I’ve been going through my own famine–and the worse it gets the more I find myself turning to prayer.

    Good luck to your friend applying to Warren Wilson College. I visited there once and it’s a great school.

Leave a Reply

