It’s all about You–

On my way up Mount Washington, I had an epiphany.  I hopethink (i made that word up myself) that it was from God actually.

There are a lot of weird creatures at the bottom of the ocean that only God can see.  He made them to enjoy and watch and check out whenever he wants to.  Like the birds of the air, he can make sure they get enough food (or whatever it is those weirdo creatues eat).  I think he likes to watch the stuff he makes.

All this time i thought God made, for my enjoyment and pleasure, the mountains i enjoyed so much on my way up.  I was praising him for his love for us and falling into a moment of praise because (a) he is awesome and (b) he loves us enough to make these great mountians (for people like me to hurt our knees on)…

Then i realized that God made the earth for HIS glory.

He put us in the world to care for it, and he gave us what we needed to be quite happy here during our short lives  (all the ingredients for ice cream for example)–he wants us to love it as he loves it and stand in awe at waterfalls and sun and animals (including the moose i saw over the weekend while hiking)…but it’s not about us, it’s about HIM.

Psalm 65:

9 You care for the land and water it;
you enrich it abundantly.
The streams of God are filled with water
to provide the people with grain,
for so you have ordained it. [c]

So my original thinking was “dude!  God made stuff for ONLY HIM TO SEE”.  those weird creatures and animals deep in the woods that no human will ever lay their eyes upon– i guess all of creation was about HIM!  not us!  HIM!

This was really a big thought: huge for me.  Then i wanted to back it up with scripture and I found the above verse in Psalms.

I think i had it 1/2 right.  He certainly put creation here to enjoy for Himself and to glorify His name, but now he does things to take care of us (like water the ground for us).  Cause he really loves and enjoys watching and caring for us.
:).  it’s definitely all more about him than us though–wow–i wish i didn’t have to still be learning stuff so basic at age 23.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

