TV stars, kickboxing and revolutions

This is a short entry to let you all know what’s up with me these last few weeks or so.

I got to fly to Pittsburgh for a TV interview (view it on our website) about ChristianVolunteering.org.  The whole trip was a great story from beginning to end.  Ask me about it someday–especially the part where a cool new random stranger and i got dinner after we met on the bus.

I uh, went to a big conference called the “Christian Community Development Association Conference” 2009.  It was powerful and exhausting.  Lots of networking and partnership meetings.  On our way, we stopped in Rochester to get hugs and the van.  Got to see the fam, Papa, stef, bec 2 and jason barber. treat.
Did anyone else go see iheart?  Thoughts?

Other news: Wendy Eldridge and Bob Chandler have been two of the most influential people in terms of helping raise money for Family Focus.  I always felt like a bit of a failure when I would say “we are trying to care for the whole child, not just food or spirituality but EVERYTHING”, because i knew most of the kids slept on the floor or hay.

Today i woke up to videos and photos of 20 mattresses being delivered–every child now has a mattress!  I will upload photos soon to our website.

My daily routine always involves the gym, work and something else that spices it all up.  my new gym is remarkably affordable (yay for sliding scales) and has fun classes.  so far i like body pump the best.  cardiokickboxing had me wanting to kick the instructor in the face and should be called cardio-im-going-to-vomit-someone-help-im dying–boxing.  And Zumba dance..well, let’s just say i have a lot to learn about graceful moving about a studio.

unfortunately the days also involve me eating leftover halloween candy (we had a great day of raking leaves at a shelter then handing out candy at a church last weekend and i swiped a bunch of leftover candy and-you get the basic idea i would think).

i like my job still-which is nice–not everybody i know can say the same, but TechMission has been a great blessing and i adore my roommates.  I’ve been doing more praying/reading, and that is ALWAYS good–it’s amazing how similar reading the Word is to getting some exercise. You put it off and off and off then do it and are like “WHOAAA THIS FEELS AWESOME!  WHY DIDNT I DO IT BEFORE NOW”?  Then it is sore a bit two days after.  Just kidding.

 

wait, no i am NOT.  here’s an example of something that might hit me two days later while I am thinking of stuff:

Matthew 8:13* “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it.  14* But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

