Tips for Rich People

Rich people: (including me, according to  http://www.globalrichlist.com)

This morning I was reading 1 timothy and came across chapter 6, vs. 6-7:

“Now there is great gain in godliness with contentment, 7 for we brought nothing into the world, and we cannot take anything out of the world.”

It’s like “Take only pictures, leave only footprints” in our national parks, but we can’t even bring our pictures!  Am I telling us all something we don’t know?  No, most modern Americans today believe that we can take nothing to Heaven with us–least i think so.  If we could bring our money to Heaven, I think Jesus would be like, “oh!  you brought some money along.  uhh, what do we do with it——let’s play monopoly!”  it’d be worthless up there.

BUT here’s what I was thinking–board here for my train of thought:

1.) If this is true, and I can take nothing with me, then how should I live my life here?

Option 1: Have as much fun as possible in the amount of time I have on earth.

Option 2: Try to help others live an extra few years and have less pain

Option 3: Live in a way that will store up treasures for myself in Heaven.

Note: I know there’s more that goes here about how to live (like pleasing God vs. myself) but this is just around the subject of taking stuff with me or not.

2.) Option 1 seems hedonistic and highly temporary.  Option 2, though important (and i do try to do this stuff in day to day life and through www.familyfocus.wordpress.com), seems also temporary and not fulfilling for the person I am serving (since physical treatment doesn’t get to the root of issues and provide true healing and 10 out of 10 people still end up dying in the end.) Clearly, I still care about the physical and I think Option 2 and 3 go together.

3.)  Is it possible to store up treasures in Heaven?  Jesus says yes:

Matthew 6:20: But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.

He even says NOT to store them up here (which makes sense, if you think about it), in the verse before, Matthew 6:19:

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.

So case closed.  I should live as though my stuff cannot be brought to Heaven.

:::THERE’S MORE::::

Questions remain: a.) What does this all even mean, b.) How do we store up treasures in Heaven and c.) Is there any reason to live with less stuff or giving more money to others BESIDES trying to get more in Heaven (still seems hedonistic).

Matthew 6: 21: “for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.  That’s a good reason right there.  I don’t want my heart to be in HSBC or Citizen’s Bank. I don’t want my eart to be in a mattress!  And I don’t want my heart to be given to expensive movie theaters or people at Target.

That in ITSELF is a good reason–because I want GOD to have my heart–not the world—and this is one practical way to make sure He does have the whole thing.

Tune in text time for more random thoughts from Becca Nelson.  Also–what’s up with the parable of the guy who builds barns to store his stuff in?  Why is it such a big problem?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Tips for Rich People

  1. Joe E.

    Sharing your wealth with charity aka love – is redemptive in heaven and on earth!

    Don’t allow or rely on government to allocate charity. Do it out of a love and genuine concern for neighbor.
    – paraphrasing “Uncle Ted” Nugent

Leave a Reply

