Mentors

I am struggling with something.

Titus 2:

1But as for you, teach what accords with sound doctrine. 2Older men are to be sober-minded, dignified, self-controlled, sound in faith, in love, and in steadfastness. 3Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good, 4and so train the young women to love their husbands and children, 5to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled. 6Likewise, urge the younger men to be self-controlled. 7Show yourself in all respects to be a model of good works, and in your teaching show integrity, dignity, 8and sound speech that cannot be condemned, so that an opponent may be put to shame, having nothing evil to say about us.

It should not be this hard to find a solid mentor. I have emailed various churches (even large ones) asking if they could please connect me with a mentor who could help me navigate through life, relationships, learning about God…and after a year or so, have one nice lady who is interested, but who has emailed me once in the past month saying it’s not a good time for her.

Why is it so hard for young people to find mentors today? Not just Christian mentors–but MENTORS in general? It just blows my mind! So many of my friends are in a similar place, and though I am not sure what they’ve tried, I know what i have tried:

1.) emailing and calling churches and people who might know someone.
2.) word of mouth, asking around
3.) meeting briefly with one great mentor but only for a time.

That third thing i did was great, but really, not sustainable. She was SWAMPED! I was happy to get a couple months with her before she needed to get back to other things.

That brings me to guess #1 for why I can’t find anyone.

Guess 1: Everyone worthy of being a mentor is doing stuff already! They’re too busy to add a night with me per week or even month, because they’ve found the balance i want between work, ministry and rest. If they add me in, balance is off.

Guess 2: Courtesy of Dad: “Our generation isnt very solid, Bec. We didnt really do what we should have. ITs no wonder there is a lack of mentors. LOok around!”

Guess 3: I’m not looking in the right places.

Here’s what I am looking for in a mentor:

You must be kind, you must be witty
Very sweet and fairly pretty
Take us on outings, give us treats
Sing songs, bring sweets

WAIT that is mary poppins.

Here’s what I’m actually looking for:

1.) Someone to teach me.
2.) Someone to be an example to me
3.) Someone i can bounce questions off on
4.) Someone who can put me in my place.
5.) Someone to be accountable to.
6.) Someone who can challenge me.
7.) Someone who can answer “Is this normal?”
8.) Someone who might pray for me!
9.) Someone who can help me make decisions.
10.) Someone who can help me love God more.
11.) Someone who can teach me to be more like a lady
12.) Someone who I can bless in return
13.) Maybe someone who can cook so i can learn from her.

Is this you? Do you know anyone? I’ll send a brief bio to you about me that you can pass on to a woman you think you know who can help me out!

I dont know what to do, im so desperate. And so are most of my friends. Older generation, please offer yourselves as at least teachers! It’s in the BIble, for pete’s sakes!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Mentors

  1. Pingback: God reads my blog–read the proof below. « Rebeccalee’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

