The Temptation of Jesus

You know, I think at one point i memorized Luke chapter 4.

And even then I didn’t “get it”. Not at all. I still don’t probably, but here’s my thoughts from what i read earlier.

3The devil said to him, “If you are(H) the Son of God, command(I) this stone to become bread.” 4And Jesus answered him, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone.'”

Ok. So it’s not as if Satan was asking Jesus to live only by bread. Why couldn’t Jesus say yes, and eat a little bread? It seems like he used this opportunity to show that anything Satan suggests to us, we should avoid. Especially–especially.. if he is using the old “if you really” or “Did God really” method. Jesus was fasting, and showed that he could stick to his commitment. Yesterday was free cone day at Ben and Jerry’s (in my building!) — and I’ve committed to fast ice cream 40 days. It was pathetic how much i wanted to go get some (and later same issue at the Red Sox game) but when I didn’t, it really showed me that it has 0 power over me and that I can do what i said.i would do because God supplies.

“And the devil took him up and showed him all the kingdoms of the world in a moment of time, 6and said to him, “To you I will give all this authority and their glory, for it has been delivered to me, and I give it to whom I will. 7If you, then, will worship me, it will all be yours.” 8And Jesus answered him, “It is written,

“‘You shall worship the Lord your God,
and him only shall you serve.'”

How sad that Jesus could say no even when every nation of the world was offered, but I’ve given in for basically nothing. I’ve worshiped other things, and gotten nothing in return, and here’s my Savior, saying no when offered everything.

“Well he’s Jesus. He already had it all.” Yes–but there’s no way that moment was easy for Him. Even if he didn’t bow down, there were other things he could’ve done besides what he chose.

And he took him to Jerusalem and set him (set him, like, carried him in the sky and set him?) on the pinnacle of the temple and said to him, “If you are the Son of God, throw yourself down from here, 10 for it is written,

“‘He will command his angels concerning you,
to guard you,’

11and

“‘On their hands they will bear you up,
lest you strike your foot against a stone.'”

12And Jesus answered him, “It is said, ‘You shall not) put the Lord your God to the test.'” 13And when the devil had ended every temptation, he departed from him(W) until an opportune time.

I always thought that testing God meant, “Ok God, if you’re God, heal this person.” or “show me this particular thing..”…but in this case, testing God was “throw yourself off the temple.”.

Though i’ve never contemplated suicidal leaps off buildings to test my God, I’ve definitely put myself in harm’s way saying, “Well God will save me if he’s God”. I’ve worked too hard, slept too little, and even gone places I ought not to as a single young lady—all in the name of God helping me if he wants to.

Testing God doesn’t always involve demanding a sign–it can involve testing him by taking risks we were not supposed to take. I’ve never thought about that before.

Though clearly, as Jesus’ final word on the subject, this “do NOT test GOD” probably was a response to ALL these tests.

i have to start work–would like to spend longer on this one later—

Will work on not worshiping other gods today —if Jesus could stand it after 40 days with no food–i should be able to love God first–

question: God is amazing and wonderful and never disappointing…so why do i worship other gods (myself, love, success, comfort, ) anyways?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Temptation of Jesus

  1. dad

    “It was for freedom that Christ set us free; therefore keep standing firm and do not be subject again to a yoke of slavery.” Galatians 5:1, NAS95 Before this verse another bunch we memorized but may not have ever understood well, the whole dealio with Hagar and the son of the slave vs the free. God is freeing us from all our attachments to false gods. Time to stand firm in His love alone.

Leave a Reply

