Testing the Lord part II

Exodus 17:

1(A) All the congregation of the people of Israel moved on from the wilderness of Sin by stages, according to the commandment of the LORD, and camped at Rephidim, but there was no water for the people to drink. 2(B) Therefore the people quarreled with Moses and said, “Give us water to drink.” And Moses said to them, “Why do you quarrel with me? Why do you(C) test the LORD?” 3But the people thirsted there for water, and(D) the people grumbled against Moses and said, “Why did you bring us up out of Egypt, to kill us and our children and our livestock with thirst?” 4So Moses cried to the LORD, “What shall I do with this people? They are almost ready(E) to stone me.” 5And the LORD said to Moses, “Pass on before the people, taking with you some of the elders of Israel, and take in your hand the staff with(F) which you struck the Nile, and go. 6(G) Behold, I will stand before you there on the rock at Horeb, and you shall strike the rock, and water shall come out of it, and the people will drink.” And Moses did so, in the sight of the elders of Israel. 7And he called the name of the place(H) Massah[a] and(I) Meribah,[b] because of the quarreling of the people of Israel, and because they tested the LORD by saying, “Is the LORD among us or not?”

It IS possible to really need something and rather than say “Is the Lord among us or not” or “Why hasn’t God __________,” to say “God I really need this to be safe, to be healthy, to be ___”.

Imagine if I was a child and every time my father did not give me what I (I thought) I needed RIGHT then, i said, “Is Dad REALLY my dad or not” and “Does Dad REALLY love me and can he really care for me or not?!”

Rather, it’s best to say, “Dad, you’ve always given me everything i need to survive and even to be happy. In fact, I’m most happy when I am with you anyways. I need _________. (or if you dont need it, but want it, then ‘I want ____.”) Could you please give it to me if it’s your will? Yet not my will but your will be done in me.”.

Sounds like a plan but at the same time, it seems over the top and “who would do that really” — right?

So it’s really an attitude and shorter prayers. Rather than “Why hasn’t God…” or “If God really” or “Is God really among us”, it’s “Please help me God. You are faithful always”.

🙂 the former statements are testing God. The last one is loving God while being tested.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

