Power of a Focused Life

The Lord says: “Awake, you who sleep, Arise from the dead, And Christ will shine on you.” 15 See then that you walk wisely, not as fools but as wise, 16 redeeming the time, because the days are evil. 17 Therefore do not be unwise, but understand what the will of the Lord is. (Eph. 5:14-17)

I have a tendency to overbook, overcommit and overwork. I usually keep my commitments, but have sometimes triple or quadruple booked, then disappointed people.

I also tend to spend too long deciding what to do, and tend to regret things (this is evil). Today I listened to a series called “The Power of a Focused Life” and decided to get organized again.

Since i swing between way too much scheduling and list-making and not enough structure, it’s been hard to see where time is being lost and on which things I’ve been focused. You’ve probably heard of the tyranny of the urgent (i’m especially prey to this at work) and “Good is the enemy of the BEST”.

In Boston, there are 1000000 things I could be doing at all times. It’s time to zoom in and really prioritize so that I can glorify Him without stressing about it every day/week. I started by following this outline described by Bickle–not just to schedule my weeks and 15 minute increments, but also my long-term goals.

Oh wow. I just found this (finally): http://tinyurl.com/6578um3 . I may have to spend more time later and go deeper. For now, i’ve made my own list of short and long term goals, for these categories:

Life goals – applying my life vision to each specific area of my life.
Long-term goals (over 10 years) and short-term goals (3 months–3 years)
1. Spiritually (prayer time, fasting days, Bible study, etc.)
2. Relationally (family, friends, etc.)
3. Vocation (marketplace calling, etc.)
4. Ministry (in the church, outside the church, etc.)
5. Economically (spending, giving, saving, investing, etc.)
6. Physically (exercise, health, diet, etc.)
7. Rest (recreation, vacation, play, entertainment, sports, etc.)

I’m rather inspired. Also — I realized some things I’ve been doing have 0 place in my short term goals, and my long term vision as it stands is:

1.) To love God with all my heart, soul mind and strength
2.) To love my neighbor as myself

In that order! Much must change now that I realize this. And everything that doesn’t fit needs to be cut out.

I could go on here, or if you want to see my final product in more details, let me know and we can share together and help each other—I do think that I work better with structure and hopefully I can balance in Him and be neither legalistic nor lazy. Yes, all we do is in Him and through Him and we can do nothing on our own, but he still asks us to produce, create and act in His Kingdom! I want to redeem (swap) my minutes and seconds for things that last in eternity. IT’s amazing how much time we actually have in a week, isn’t it?

Do you use a calendar? What works best, electronic or written? I’m leaning towards handheld, written, with a pen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

