Unless the Lord Builds the House

There is a difference between God blessing something and God building something. We can ask God for permission to do things we want, or we can ask Him to build.

Just a few chapters before we find in Psalm 123: “Behold, as the eyes of servants look to the hand of their master, and as the eyes of a maid to the hand of her mistress, so our eyes look to the Lord our God, until He has mercy and loving-kindness for us.”

If I am busy seeking first the Kingdom and His righteousness, all these things will be added to me as well. And if I am busy beholding my master, the Lord our God, I will not find time to glance around at all sorts of other things instead.

Help me fix my gaze upon you, God!

Ezekiel 11:19 I will give them an undivided heart and put a new spirit in them; I will remove from them their heart of stone and give them a heart of flesh.

Psalm 86:11 Teach me your way, LORD, that I may rely on your faithfulness; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name.

Asking for an undivided heart while entertaining thoughts that divide my mind
seems a little bit like asking for a cupcake but hold the frosting, and the cake part.
God knows i struggle to control desires and hopes, dreams and analysis.
But he also reminds me that my thoughts are just as much his as my time or my money.

Undivided devotion? It’s mentioned ONCE in the new testament–in 1 Cor. 7.
Wish there was more in the Word about how to dwell in a place of unity with Him
fullness of Spirit
one heart, one mind, one Spirit, one Lord
But maybe he wants to teach it to me slowly, alone, through verses I didn’t understand before.

It says Seek Ye First –
Your face oh Lord, I will seek
I’m sorry for times when I am distracted
even as I pray for oneness.
Help me to focus in on you
your global mission
your love, your example, your vision

I look up towards you and say with arms wide open
“all my springs of joy are in you!”
every good gift comes from you
you’re the only one i can go to arms open wide
nothing to offer
expecting that whatever comes
its gonna be good

its breathtaking when you stop to think about how wonderful this really is
honor love glory praise adoration thanks worship–all these are all for you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

