Marriage

“Marriage is not mainly about being or staying in love. It’s mainly about telling the truth with our lives. It’s about portraying something true about Jesus Christ and the way he relates to his people. It is about showing in real life the glory of the gospel.”

John Piper-This Momentary Marriage

So – I have two resources for my friends to watch and read for free.  This one is a video that makes me cry (just watch it) and shows me what marriage is really about.  And this one is the best book I’ve read on marriage, to date, free online.

This Momentary Marriage spoke to me, deeply, about my calling as a wife to display God’s love to the world.  Now that I’m married, that is a huge part of my calling.  And the chapter on wives talks specifically about this section of Scripture:

Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear—but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious. For this is how the holy women who hoped in God used to adorn themselves, by submitting to their own husbands, as Sarah obeyed Abraham, calling him lord. And you are her children, if you do good and do not fear anything that is frightening.
(1 Peter 3:3-6 ESV)

The “do not fear” part spoke most to me.  I think there are different kinds of people who tend towards different sins.  There’s people who get MAD when they are frustrated and then there are people who cry and get SAD when frustrated.  There are people who tend to control and there are people who worry all the time.  I regularly realize when I am (too often) misbehaving that there is SOMETHING I am afraid of in that moment.  Maybe it is a fear of looking stupid, or a fear of physical danger or a fear of something I might do incorrectly…but it is often fear.  Women who hope in God and do good have NO fear of anything that is even legitimately frightening.  This is the key thing to learn this year before we move to a new place in the fall.

 

Oh, by the way, my wedding: smugmug.com/gallery/25742127_bnWw7X#!i=2128693027&k=wTdBMDd .

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

